Board of Directors

Board of Directors

Back row, left to right: Rubens Belfort, Jr., Robert Dempsey, Caren Mason, Peter Wiedemann, Paul Sieving, William Meury, Tom Burns, Robert Ritch, Jean-Frédéric Chibret, Clement Tham, Kgaogelo Legodi (ICO VP). Front row, left to right: Alice McPherson, Paul Lichter, David Pyott, Bruce Spivey, Bradley Straatsma (28 October 2018)

Current Board Members

David E. I. Pyott, MDhc, President
Former Chairman and Chief Executive Officer
Allergan, Inc.
Irvine, California, USA

Paul R. Lichter, MD, Vice President
Professor of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences
Immediate Past Department Chair
Founding Director, W.K. Kellogg Eye Center
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

Bruce E. Spivey, MD, MS, MEd, Secretary-Treasurer
Past President, International Council of Ophthalmology
San Francisco, California, USA

Bradley R. Straatsma, MD, JD, President Emeritus
Professor and Chairman Emeritus
Department of Ophthalmology
Director Emeritus, Jules Stein Eye Institute
University of California Los Angeles
Los Angeles, California, USA

F. Michael Ball
Division Head and CEO
Alcon, Inc.
Fort Worth, Texas, USA

Rubens Belfort, Jr., MD, PhD, MBA
Head Professor, Department of Ophthalmology
President, Vision Institute
Federal University of São Paulo
São Paulo, Brazil

Thomas W. Burns
President and CEO
Glaukos Corporation
Laguna Hills, California, USA

Jean-Frédéric Chibret
Laboratoires Théa
Clermont-Ferrand, France

Anne L. Coleman, MD, PhD
Jules Stein Eye Institute
University of California
Los Angeles, California, USA

Robert Dempsey
Group Vice President
Head of Global Ophthalmics Franchise
Lexington, Massachusetts, USA

Thomas Frinzi
Senior Vice President
Johnson & Johnson Vision
Santa Ana, California, USA

Rafiq Hasan, MD
Vice President and Global Head, Ophthalmology
Bayer AG
Surrey, United Kingdom

Akira Kurokawa
President and CEO
Santen Pharmaceutical Co., Ltd.
Osaka, Japan

Caren Mason
President and CEO
STAAR Surgical
Monrovia, California, USA

James V. Mazzo
Global President of Ophthalmology
Carl Zeiss Meditec AG
Irvine, California, USA

Alice R. McPherson, MD
President, Retina Research Foundation
Professor of Ophthalmology
Baylor Eye Physicians and Surgeons
Baylor College of Medicine
Houston, Texas, USA

William Meury
Chief Commercial Officer
Allergan Plc.
Irvine, California, USA

Robert Ritch, MD, FACS, FARVO
Chief, Glaucoma Service
New York Eye and Ear Infirmary of Mount Sinai
New York, New York, USA

Paul A. Sieving, MD, PhD
Director, National Eye Institute
National Institutes of Health
Bethesda, Maryland, USA

Clement Tham, BM BCh (Oxon), FCOphth (HK), FHKAM (Ophth), FRCOphth, FRCS (Glas), FCSHK
Treasurer, International Council of Ophthalmology
Hong Kong Eye Hospital
The Chinese University of Hong Kong
Kowloon, Hong Kong SAR, China

Peter Wiedemann, MD
President, International Council of Ophthalmology
Director, Leipzig University Eye Hospital
Leipzig, Germany

Your financial contribution supports International Council of Ophthalmology (ICO) programs to enhance education and eye care and to preserve and restore vision worldwide.


Contribute Today

Web site design and web development by D3 Solutions